When wine has a thirst for research. © FOTOLIA, Fotolia

When wine has a thirst for research

Scientific contacts

  

Published on 11/21/2013

Tasting as the centre of attention

From chemistry to subjectivity
Alain Samson, Pech Rouge Experimental Unit, INRA-Montpellier
alain.samson@supagro.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)4 68 49 44 17
The mouth, nose or brain... wine for all the senses
Thierry Thomas-Danguin, Centre for Taste, Food and Nutrition Sciences
(INRA-CNRS-Université de Bourgogne), INRA-Dijon
thomasd@dijon.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)3 80 69 30 84
Fruity notes that are difficult to perceive
Do experts have special noses?
Philippe Darriet, Joint Research Unit for Oenology (ISVV-Université Bordeaux Segalen-INRA),
INRA-Bordeaux-Aquitaine
philippe.darriet@oenologie.u-bordeaux2.fr - Tel. 33 (0)5 57 57 58 60

It's in the bouquet!

The softness of dry wines
Philippe Darriet, Joint Research Unit for Oenology (ISVV-Université Bordeaux Segalen-INRA),
INRA-Bordeaux-Aquitaine
philippe.darriet@oenologie.u-bordeaux2.fr - Tel. 33 (0)5 57 57 58 60
Understanding astringency
Veronique Cheynier, Sciences for Oenology Joint Research Unit
(INRA-Montpellier SupAgro-Université Montpellier I), INRA-Montpellier
cheynier@supagro.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)4 99 61 22 98

Wines of every hue

La vie en rosé
Veronique Cheynier, Sciences for Oenology Joint Research Unit
(INRA-Montpellier SupAgro-Université Montpellier I), INRA-Montpellier
cheynier@supagro.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)4 99 61 22 98

AOC wines, a family resemblance

Soil does not make a terroir. Predicting the evolution of appellations
Yves Cadot, Grapevine and Wine Experimental Unit, INRA-Angers-Nantes
yves.cadot@angers.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)2 41 22 56 63
And why are consumers attached to AOC wines?
Eric Giraud-Heraud, Nutrition and Social Sciences Research Unit, INRA-Versailles-Grignon
eric.giraud-heraud@ivry.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)1 49 59 69 33

Spotlight on prices

Sebastien Lecocq, Nutrition and Social Sciences Research Unit, INRA-Versailles-Grignon
sebastien.lecocq@ivry.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)1 49 59 69 42

Grapes that are good enough to eat

Polyphenols under the microscope
Agnes Ageorges, Sciences for Oenology Joint Research Unit
(INRA-Montpellier SupAgro-Universite Montpellier I), INRA-Montpellier
ageorges@supagro.inra.fr Tel. 33 (0)4 99 61 27 56
Step by step cuisine: Wöhler sauce with polyphenols!
Herve This, Joint Research Unit for Food Process Engineering (INRA-AgroParisTech-CNAM), INRA-Jouy-en-Josas
herve.this@paris.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)1 44 08 72 90
The secret of Pinot gris lies in its skin
Frederique Pelsy, Joint Research Unit for Grapevine Health and Wine Quality, INRA-Colmar
Frederique.Pelsy@colmar.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)3 89 22 49 46
Sugars and maths
Zhanwu Dai, Joint Research Unit for Ecophysiology and Grape Functional Genomics (INRA-Bordeaux Sciences Agro-Universites Bordeaux 1 and Bordeaux Segalen), INRA-Bordeaux-Aquitaine
zhanwu.dai@bordeaux.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)5 57 57 59 22
Primary aromas
Philippe Hugueney, Joint Research Unit for Grapevine Health and Wine Quality
(INRA-Universite de Strasbourg), INRA-Colmar
philippe.hugueney@colmar.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)3 89 22 49 74

Innovations from harvest to the bottle

A new concept: "precision oenology",
Dynamic grape crushing, A hot flash on the harvest,
Continuous juice production, While wine macerates...
Magali Bes, Pech Rouge Experimental Unit, INRA-Montpellier
magali.bes@supagro.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)4 68 49 44 05
Automated fermentation
Jean-Marie Sablayrolles, Sciences for Oenology Joint Research Unit
(INRA-Montpellier SupAgro-Universite Montpellier I), INRA-Montpellier
sablayro@supagro.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)4 99 61 25 00
The largest collection of vine varieties in the world is held by INRA!
Thierry Lacombe, Joint Research Unit for the Genetic Improvement and Adaptation of Mediterranean and Tropical Plants, INRA-Montpellier
thierry.lacombe@supagro.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)4 99 61 22 53

These yeasts that can make good wine

Yeasts and genes
Sylvie Dequin, Sciences for Oenology Joint Research Unit
(INRA-Montpellier SupAgro-Universite Montpellier I), INRA-Montpellier
sylvie.dequin@supagro.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)4 99 61 25 28
Winemaking wasps!
Jean-Luc Legras, Sciences for Oenology Joint Research Unit
(INRA-Montpellier SupAgro-Universite Montpellier I), INRA-Montpellier
jean-luc.legras@supagro.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)4 99 61 31 70
Secondary aromas and aroma precursors
Jean-Michel Salmon, Pech Rouge Experimental Unit, INRA-Montpellier
jmsalmon@supagro.inra.fr – Tel. 33 (0)4 99 61 25 05
and Philippe Darriet, Joint Research Unit for Oenology (ISVV-Université Bordeaux Segalen-INRA),
INRA-Bordeaux-Aquitaine
philippe.darriet@oenologie.u-bordeaux2.fr - Tel. 33 (0)5 57 57 58 60

New winemaking practices

Through the membrane
Jean-Louis Escudier, Pech Rouge Experimental Unit, INRA-Montpellier
escudier@supagro.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)4 68 49 44 01
Pulsed electric fields
Philippe Darriet, Joint Research Unit for Oenology (ISVV-Université Bordeaux Segalen-INRA),
INRA-Bordeaux-Aquitaine
philippe.darriet@oenologie.u-bordeaux2.fr - Tel. 33 (0)5 57 57 58 60
Clouds in white wines
Francois-Xavier Sauvage, Sciences for Oenology Joint Research Unit
(INRA-Montpellier SupAgro-Universite Montpellier I), INRA-Montpellier
sauvage@supagro.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)4 99 61 25 01
The control of dissolved gases
Jean-Claude Vidal,  Pech Rouge Experimental Unit, INRA-Montpellier
vidaljc@supagro.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)4 68 49 74 00
Wine and health
Nutrinet Study, Paule Martel, Joint Research Unit for Nutritional Epidemiology
(INRA-INSERM-CNAM-Université Paris 13), INRA-Jouy-en-Josas
paule.martel@jouy.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)1 34 65 22 54

Climate change: which wines for tomorrow?

Joint coordinators of the Laccave projec: Jean-Marc Touzard, Joint Research Unit for Innovation and Development in Agriculture and the Agri-Food Sector (INRA-SupAgro-CIRAD), INRA-Montpellier
touzard@supagro.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)4 99 61 24 65
and Nathalie Ollat, Joint Research Unit for Ecophysiology and Grape Functional Genomics (INRA-Bordeaux Sciences Agro-Universites Bordeaux 1 and Bordeaux Segalen), INRA-Bordeaux-Aquitaine
nathalie.ollat@bordeaux.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)5 57 57 59 30

It's trendy!

Wine with a lower alcohol content
Magali Bes, Pech Rouge Experimental Unit, INRA-Montpellier
magali.bes@supagro.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)4 68 49 44 05
Di@gnoplant
Denis Thiery, Joint Research Unit for Vine Health and Agroecology
(INRA-Bordeaux Sciences Agro), INRA-Bordeaux-Aquitaine
denis.thiery@bordeaux.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)5 57 12 26 39
New resistant varieties
Didier Merdinoglu, Joint Research Unit for Grapevine Health and Wine Quality
(INRA-Universite de Strasbourg), INRA-Colmar
didier.merdinoglu@colmar.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)3 89 22 49 48
And what about organic wine?
Jean-Michel Salmon, Pech Rouge Experimental Unit, INRA-Montpellier
jmsalmon@supagro.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)4 99 61 25 05
Château Couhins, a cru classé Graves wine for sustainable viticulture
Dominique Forget, Bordeaux Viticultural Experimental Farm, INRA-Bordeaux-Aquitaine
dominique.forget@bordeaux.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)5 56 30 77 61

Other contacts:

Gerard Barbeau, Director, Grapevine and Wine Experimental Unit, INRA-Angers-Nantes
gerard.barbeau@angers.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)2 41 22 56 72
Serge Delrot, Director, dJoint Research Unit for Ecophysiology and Grape Functional Genomics (INRA-Bordeaux Sciences Agro-Universites Bordeaux 1 and Bordeaux Segalen), INRA-Bordeaux-Aquitaine
serge.delrot@bordeaux.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)5 57 57 59 00
Hernan Ojeda, Director, Pech Rouge Experimental Unit, INRA-Montpellier
ojeda@supagro.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)4 68 49 44 08
Patrick Bertuzzi, Director, Agroclim, INRA-PACA
patrick.bertuzzi@avignon.inra - Tel. 33 (0)4 32 72 22 25
Jean-Philippe Steyer, Director, Laboratory for Environmental Biotechnology,
INRA-Montpellier
steyer@supagro.inra.fr - Tel. 33 (0)4 68 42 51 78